Skip Navigation LinksLean-IT-Foundation-Certification

Lean IT Foundation Certification

Certificate: Lean IT Foundation​Accreditor: Lean IT Association
​Duration: 2 days​Language: English
​Delivery: Virtual, On-site, Off-Site​Exam: Closed Book, Multiple Choice

​Learn how to increase customer value and eliminate waste.

Learn Lean thinking methods, tools and techniques that drive high customer value more quickly by minimizing waste and maximizing value-add.

Lean thinking is about understanding what your customers truly value and assessing your business process to identify and eliminate the non-value activities (waste) that consume your time and resources.

Course Description:

Lean IT Foundation helps IT organizations to ensure that they provide their customers with the best possible services. Through understanding customer value, the processes that deliver this value, the way to manage performance, the way to organize and the required attitude and behavior, IT organizations are helped to develop a continuous improvement mindset. Lean IT is complementary to all other best practice methods (such as ITIL®, PRINCE2® and P3O®).

This course covers the Foundation level certification of the Lean IT Association. Further Lean IT qualifications are Lean IT Kaizen Lead, Lean IT Coach and Lean IT Leadership. The Lean IT Foundation is the entry level certification. This certification is mandatory for the other certifications.

The primary purpose of the course is to provide a basis for accreditation of people involved with Lean IT Foundation. It documents the learning outcomes of the Lean IT Foundation and describes the requirements a candidate is expected to meet to demonstrate that these learning outcomes have been achieved.


  • Any manager or specialist working in an IT organization can benefit from the insights provided by the qualification e.g. service desk analysts through to process owners, team leads and supervisors, department managers and also including CIOs.
  • IT professionals who are participating in or involved with lean projects e.g. consultants, practice leaders, Six Sigma practice leaders including all belts.

Learning Objectives:

Upon completion of the training and examination related to this qualification, a successful candidate will be familiar with the principles of the Lean philosophy and in particular with the application of this philosophy within an IT-environment.

  • The principles underlying the Lean philosophy
  • The importance of understanding and delivering customer value
  • The way Lean looks at processes and the waste within them
  • How to measure performance and the key determinants of performance
  • What the organizational requirements are when implementing Lean, including the use of visual management tools
  • Which behavior and attitude is necessary for Lean to be successful within an IT organization
  • The DMAIC problem-solving model
  • How these Lean principles can be applied within an IT organization


​Day 1​Day 2
​1. Introduction of Lean1. The Lean Organization
​2. The Customer​2. Behavior and Attitude
​3. The Process​3. Problem Solving 
​4. Performance​4. Wrap-up and Mock Exam
​5. Exam


Course Outline

Module 1: Introduction

  • Lean principles: how these are related to one another.
  • Waste: ability to identify types of waste within an IT organization or process (TIMWOOD with Talent)
  • The cost of poor quality and reasons for using Lean Principles to improve performance
  • Types of activities: ability to define what IT activities fall into which category
    PDCA: ability to describe how the PDCA cycle works on the most basic level
  • Relationship to other models and methods used within IT: understand where Lean IT differs from and complements other methods. The connection of Lean IT with IT service management is specifically investigated.

Module 2: The Customer

  • Types of customer value and the factors that influence customer value
  • The link between the Voice of the Customer and Critical to Quality
  • How to construct a Critical to Quality tree

Module 3: The Process

  • Relationship of process (Value stream) with the other Lean principles
  • The difference between Push and Pull systems
  • The steps for creating a Value Stream Map, using SIPOC and Value Stream Map
  • Waste in a Value Stream Map, ability to identify the symbols for the TIMWOOD waste
  • Explain the SIPOC and VSM using IT examples e.g. SIPOC: Software development, VSM: High level Change process (other examples are permitted)

Module 4: Performance

  • Relationship of performance with the PDCA cycle
  • The key aspects of a KPI
  • Why time is the most important production factor within IT
  • The relationship of PCE with VSM
  • The role of skills and knowledge in ensuring performance 

Module 5: Organization

  • Why organizations need to be customer oriented
  • What the goal is of a performance dialogue
  • The use of each of the visual management boards – day board, week board and Kaizen/improvement board

Module 6: Kaizen

  • Which tools from the other dimensions are used in which phase of the DMAIC cycle
  • Prioritization of improvement candidates through feasibility and impact in determining both which problems to solve with a Kaizen and which solutions to implement at the Improve step of the Kaizen

Module 7: Behavior & Attitude

  • The difference between behavior and attitude
  • The difference between traditional management and Lean management
  • The behavior and attitude required for successful use of Lean
    Behavior and Attitude in relation to expectations surrounding a change in way of working


There are no prerequisites for this course.


  • The exam is closed-book format. 
  • The exam consists of 40 multiple-choice questions. 
  • A minimum score of 65% is required to pass the exam.
  • The exam lasts 60 minutes.

Follow-On Courses:

  • Lean IT Kaizen Lead
  • Lean IT Coach
  • Lean IT Leadership

Certification Programs and Certificate Tracks:

This Foundation level course is the first in the new Lean IT certification program defined by the Lean IT Association. It is a mandatory requirement for all other levels within the certification scheme.

The Lean IT Certification Scheme consists of 4 distinct certifications for various levels, starting at entry level with Lean IT Foundation and moving into Lean IT Kaizen, climbing further up the ladder to Lean IT Leadership or Coach. Each level introduces more knowledge and skills, eventually leading up to competences that enable a professional to support corporate introduction or development of Lean IT implementations.


Delivery Options

We offer alternative methods of training delivery.  Choose one best for you.

Virtual Classroom Sign Up Sheet

If you are interested in virtual training, please sign up to be notified when other training dates become available.   


​Virtual ​Classroom Schedule & Registration


Other Delivery Options

We also offer On-site classroom, Off-Site classroom delivery options for this training.   Please contact us to learn more or get a free estimate.